{trust}

Trust.

What a small word. A small word that can mean so much. It can take years to build up, but seconds to lose.

Over this last year and a half, through all the trials and lessons I’ve learned the biggest has been lesson I’ve learned is,

trust.

That God is trustworthy. The only one in this life who is completely trustworthy. He will never let me down.

Ever.

Image

Does that mean I won’t have trials? No. Absolutely not. We should expect them. God uses the fires to strip away bondage and hurts we may not even know were there. Till less and less of our sinful brokenness shows, and more and more of His perfect love and righteousness are left shining. I’m an independent person. It took those times of hardship and stripping away till the only thing that was left was

Him. 

Image

It took that for me to surrender. To let go of the control I had been foolishly trying to hold.

And oh how beautiful letting go can be.
This lyric from a needtobreathe songs sums it up perfectly.

Your love is like radiant diamonds
Bursting inside us we cannot contain
Your love will surely come find us
Like blazing wild fires singing Your name

God of mercy sweet love of mine
I have surrendered to Your design
May this offering stretch across the skies
And these Halleluiahs be multiplied

Image

There is such peace in my surrender. I can’t even begin to explain it.

“And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:7″

He is God. He has a plan. A good and perfect one. One that is not meant to harm me, but give me hope and a future.

I. Trust. Him.

Image

In that, I’ve begun to fall in love with my Savior all over again. I want to be a runner. I want to run with abandon after my Jesus. I want to be called crazy for Him.

He. Is. Enough.

I can’t begin to tell you how fulfilling that is. He is filling up all the little holes in my heart.

My hope, my very identity is in Him and Him alone. No person on this earth can ever be that. If I let it be found in others, I would be let down over and over again. No matter how good our intentions are we are still broken and sinful people. Jesus alone is perfect. I want to care more about what my Jesus thinks about me, than what the people around me think.

I also want to love others with a Christlike love. I want to love, even when it hurts. Even when the love isn’t returned. Life is too short to do anything less than that. We have this one shot at life. I don’t want to mess it up.

Image

Tonight I encourage you to let go.

To take that scary and terrifying jump off the cliff of the unknown.

Stop your thinking and over analyzing.

Jump like a child jumping into the arms of their daddy.

Your heavenly Daddy will be there to catch you.

“I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness.

He’s waiting.

With arms open wide.

Arms that were stretched wide in love. Nailed to a cross.

He did that for you.

He wants you. All of you. Completely.

In Him,

Tressa

3 thoughts on “{trust}

  1. Beautiful words of faith, Tressa. Warms my heart. Too long I’ve lived in fear, and I don’t know why. I know my Savior loves me, and I love Him. Trust. It’s a beautiful word of action. I so desperately need my broken heart to mend after the home going of my precious granddaughter Please pray for my daughter, Christy, and my son-in-love, Tim, It’s been a year and a half. Thank you for your speaking from your heart.

    • Thanks Susan! God was really laying it on my heart last night and I’m glad I followed through with it. I can’t even begin to imagine the pain you and your family has walked. I do know that our Jesus is loving and that he has a perfect plan even when we don’t see it. We live in a fallen world full of hardships. I’m so thankful God didn’t leave us in the messed up place by ourselves. Hold onto the fact that one day you will get to see your precious granddaughter again in heaven. Let that fill your weary heart with hope.

  2. Tressa, what a beautiful post! I am better (not totally yet) to trust HIM. The words make sense, until your in the middle of a problem. Just recently my son was without a job, and I kept praying he’d get another one that would be good and he’d like it. “I” kept looking back (which you shouldn’t do…as a new door will open), time went by with nothing, money was getting tight, he was getting depressed…(even though his wife was so supportive!) I kept praying and voila! He applied for a good job, and it just happened, he was at the right place at the right time (God’s time!)° He now has a great job, and making good money! We must Trust!

    Blessings,
    Gert

Leave a Reply

